Pre-Congregational Meeting Packet

The attached documents are drafts of the agenda and applicable documents proposed for the May 19, 2019 Congregational Meeting. For the pre-congregational meeting to be held at 1:30 on April 14, 2019, we will move through the agenda and these topics for discussion but without a vote.

Agenda – Congregational Meeting First Unitarian Universalist Church of Austin Sunday, May 19, 2019, 1:30 pm – 2:30 pm in the Sanctuary

- 1. Welcome and Call to Order, Sean Ramsey 10 min
 - a. Unison Reading of Covenant and Lighting of Chalice
 - b. Adopt Consent Agenda
 - Rules of Procedure
 - Minutes December 2018 congregational meeting
 - c. Adopt Agenda
- 2. Update: State of the Church, Rev. Meg Barnhouse 10 min
- 3. Congregational vote on Board of Trustee slate 15 min
- 4. Congregational Vote on Nominating Committee Member(s) 5 min
- 5. Joys and Concerns 10 minutes
- 6. Closing Reading and Extinguish Chalice 5 minutes
- 7. Adjourn

A COVENANT OF HEALTHY RELATIONS

As a religious community, we promise:

To Welcome and Serve

- By being intentionally hospitable to all people of good will
- By being present with one another through life's transitions
- By encouraging the spiritual growth of people of all ages

To Nurture and Protect

- By communicating with one another directly in a spirit of compassion and good will
- · By speaking when silence would inhibit progress
- By disagreeing from a place of curiosity and respect
- By interrupting hurtful interactions when we witness them
- By expressing our appreciation to each other

To Sustain and Build

- By affirming our gratitude with generous gifts of time, talent and money for our beloved community
- By honoring our commitments to ourselves and one another for the sake of our own integrity and that of our congregation
- By forgiving ourselves and others when we fall short of expectations, showing good humor and the optimism required for moving forward

Thus do we covenant with one another

Approved at congregation meeting May 5, 2013

First Unitarian Universalist Church of Austin Congregational Meeting Rules of Procedure

1. Order of Business

The order of business will follow the meeting notice unless the order of business is changed by a majority vote.

2. Means of Voting

As long as a quorum is present (ten percent of voting members of the congregation), voice votes, uncounted standing votes, or an uncounted show of hands will be used, unless the bylaws specify otherwise. Two or more people shall be designated as vote counters by the chair at the outset of the meeting in the event that a vote count is needed. Written ballots will not be used without a two-thirds vote. All matters will be determined by the number of votes cast by members present and voting, as long as there is a quorum, unless the meeting notice allows absentee voting.

3. Presentation of Items

A Board Member or the appropriate Committee Chair will move the action items as printed in the meeting notice.

4. Amendments

No one may offer an amendment until there has been at least ten minutes of debate on the main question as moved, unless no one else wants to speak to the main question or it is a clarifying amendment. Anyone making an amendment must give it to the chair in writing before it is discussed. Paper and pencil will be provided; those requesting assistance will be provided assistance.

5. Time limits

These time limits will apply to all the business of the meeting. If no one objects, the Chair may grant minor extensions. Time limits may be extended by a two-thirds vote.

a. No one may speak on any motion for more than two minutes or more than once as long as anyone else is waiting to speak, except that persons with special

information may answer questions with the Chair's permission.

- b. No item will be discussed in the meeting for more than 30 minutes. Discussion time will be divided equally by alternating between speakers at microphones designated pro and con. One microphone will be designated for point(s) of clarification or amendments.
- c. No one may call the previous question if there are persons waiting to speak at both the pro and con microphones and the time for discussion is not over. If the Chair sees no speakers at the con microphone, then the Chair may call for a vote.
- d. Every person must speak at a microphone.

6. Budget Motions

Anyone making a motion concerning the budget must give it to the Chair in writing and must provide for reduction in specific categories equal to any increase in spending in the motion. A simple majority vote is required to adopt motions concerning the budget.

7. Items Not in the Meeting Notice

Items of a substantial nature which are not in the meeting notice shall not be considered. Committees with items of substantial importance must have the item prepared far enough in advance for inclusion in the meeting notice.

8. Amending the Rules of Procedure

These rules of procedure will be adopted by a majority vote and may be changed during the meeting by a simple majority.

9. Adjournment

The meeting will adjourn no later than two hours or at such time as a quorum is no longer present after the Chair has called the meeting to order. The meeting may be extended in 15-minute increments by a simple majority vote for as much as one additional hour.

Name	Position	Term	comments				
Tomas Medina	President	2019-2020					
Elias Ponvert	President-elect	2019-2021	President 2020-2021				
Matthew Kresin	Trustee	2017-2020	returning				
Erin Gaines	Trustee	2017-2020	returning				
Gay Phillips	Trustee	2017-2020	returning				
Leena Batra	Trustee	2018-2021	returning				
Nesan Lawrence	Trustee	2019-2021	Nominee				
Kelly Raley	Trustee	2019-2021	Nominee				
Sarah Matt	Trustee	2019-2022	Nominee				
Leo Collas	Trustee	2019-2022	Nominee				
Sarah "Sadie" Lambert	Trustee	2019-2022	Nominee				
Notes: Tomas will have only served two years; it will be up to the Board and Nom Com if he rotates to nom com or stays on the board one more year							
There are two, two year nominees this time; one to fill out Elias's term and one to replace Maria Medina and finish her term.							
Nominating Committee							
Tom Johnson	Returning	2019-2020					
Mohan Rao	Returning	2018-2021					
Sean Ramsey	Board appointed	2019-2020					
Ken Pfluger	Board appointed	2019-2022					
Maria Person	Nominee	2019-2022					